I am looking for help with reviewing sets and/or maintaining Lore Seeker and the Big Custom Box. If you're interested, please contact me in #general in the Custom Standard Discord. —Fenhl
Painter's Servant

Painter's Servant {2}

Artifact Creature - Scarecrow
As Painter's Servant enters the battlefield, choose a color.
All cards that aren't on the battlefield, spells, and permanents are the chosen color in addition to their other colors.
"My work wouldn't be half as good if it weren't for my faithful assistant."
—Eregon's diary
1/3
Details
  • Artist: Timojim
  • Rarity: rare
  • Collector Number: 230
  • Released: 2016-12-08
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2008-05-01 This ability affects every card in every game zone, all tokens on the battlefield, and all spell copies on the stack, regardless of who controls or owns them.
  • 2008-05-01 This ability doesn't overwrite any previous colors. Rather, it adds another color.
  • 2008-05-01 The effects of multiple Painter's Servants are cumulative.
  • 2008-05-01 While Painter's Servant is on the battlefield, an effect that changes an object's colors will overwrite Painter's Servant's effect. For example, casting Cerulean Wisps on a creature will turn it blue, regardless of the color chosen for Painter's Servant.
  • 2008-05-01 Each card becomes a new object as it changes zones, so this effect will apply to it from scratch in the new zone. Zone-change replacement abilities that care about the new color (like "[color] permanents enter the battlefield tapped") won't work because those effects are applied as the card is entering its new zone. Zone-change triggered abilities that care about the new color (like "when a [color] permanent enters the battlefield" or "when you cast a [color] spell") will work because those effects apply after the card is already in its new zone.
  • 2008-05-01 If something affected by Painter's Servant is normally colorless, it will simply be the new color. It won't be both the new color and colorless.
  • 2008-05-01 This ability doesn't overwrite any previous colors. Rather, it adds another color.
  • 2008-05-01 The effects of multiple Painter's Servants are cumulative.
  • 2008-05-01 While Painter's Servant is on the battlefield, an effect that changes an object's colors will overwrite Painter's Servant's effect. For example, casting Cerulean Wisps on a creature will turn it blue, regardless of the color chosen for Painter's Servant.
  • 2008-05-01 Each card becomes a new object as it changes zones, so this effect will apply to it from scratch in the new zone. Zone-change replacement abilities that care about the new color (like "[color] permanents enter the battlefield tapped") won't work because those effects are applied as the card is entering its new zone. Zone-change triggered abilities that care about the new color (like "when a [color] permanent enters the battlefield" or "when you cast a [color] spell") will work because those effects apply after the card is already in its new zone.
  • 2008-05-01 If something affected by Painter's Servant is normally colorless, it will simply be the new color. It won't be both the new color and colorless.
Links
Printings

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 画家仆役
  • Diener des Malers
  • Servant du peintre
  • Servo del Pittore
  • 絵描きの召使い
  • Servo do Pintor
  • Слуга Живописца
  • Sirviente del pintor