Narset's Reversal
War of the Spark Promos
62s (rare)
Image missing

Narset's Reversal {U}{U}

Instant
Copy target instant or sorcery spell, then return it to its owner's hand. You may choose new targets for the copy.
"In the disarray of battle, an enemy's attack may be your most convenient weapon."
—Narset
Details
  • Artist: Viktor Titov
  • Rarity: rare
  • Collector Number: 62s
  • Released: 2019-03-31
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2019-05-03 Narset's Reversal can copy any instant or sorcery spell, not just one with targets.
  • 2019-05-03 The copy is created on the stack, so it's not "cast." Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won't trigger.
  • 2019-05-03 The copy will have the same targets as the spell it's copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you can't choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).
  • 2019-05-03 If the spell that's copied is modal (that is, it says "Choose one —" or the like), the copy will have the same mode. A different mode can't be chosen.
  • 2019-05-03 If the spell that's copied has an X whose value was determined as it was cast (like Finale of Promise does), the copy will have the same value of X.
  • 2019-05-03 If the spell has damage divided as it was cast, the division can't be changed (although the targets receiving that damage still can). The same is true of spells that distribute counters.
  • 2019-05-03 The controller of a copy can't choose to pay any alternative or additional costs for the copy. However, effects based on any alternative or additional costs that were paid for the original spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for the copy.
  • 2019-05-03 If you copy a spell, you control the copy. Narset's Reversal and the copy resolve before the original spell would have resolved.
  • 2019-05-03 If a spell is returned to its owner's hand, it's removed from the stack and thus will not resolve. The spell isn't countered; it just no longer exists. This works against a spell that can't be countered.
  • 2019-05-03 If a copy of a spell is returned to its owner's hand, it's moved there, then it will cease to exist as a state-based action.
Links
Printings

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 娜尔施的挪移术
  • 娜爾施的挪移術
  • Narsets Umkehrung
  • Inversion de Narset
  • Inversione di Narset
  • ナーセットの逆転
  • 나르셋의 역전
  • Reversão de Narset
  • Обращение Нарсет
  • Inversión de Narset