Gideon's Triumph

Gideon's Triumph {1}{W}

Instant
Target opponent sacrifices a creature that attacked or blocked this turn. If you control a Gideon planeswalker, that player sacrifices two of those creatures instead.
His triumph came not from victory over his enemies, but from the salvation of those who survived.
Details
  • Artist: Kieran Yanner
  • Rarity: uncommon
  • Collector Number: 15
  • Released: 2019-05-03
Legalities
Rulings
  • 2019-05-03 Gideon's Triumph can be cast before combat damage has been dealt. In this case, it can be cast before or after blockers have been chosen.
  • 2019-05-03 Gideon's Triumph can be cast after combat damage has been dealt. In this case, the target player chooses one or two creatures that attacked or blocked this turn and have survived combat damage.
  • 2019-05-03 A creature that was put onto the battlefield attacking didn't attack, so it can't be sacrificed.
  • 2019-05-03 A creature that attacked and was removed from combat (such as by Spires of Orazca) still attacked, so it can be sacrificed.
  • 2019-05-03 Gideon's Triumph targets the player, not the creature or creatures to be sacrificed. A creature with hexproof may be sacrificed this way.
  • 2019-05-03 Whether you control an appropriate planeswalker is checked only as the spell resolves.
  • 2019-05-03 Controlling more than one planeswalker of the appropriate type won't have any more of a benefit than just controlling one.
Links
Printings
  • War of the Spark (uncommon)

View gallery of all printings

Foreign names
  • 基定得胜
  • 基定得勝
  • Gideons Triumph
  • Triomphe de Gideon
  • Trionfo di Gideon
  • ギデオンの勝利
  • 기디온의 승리
  • Triunfo de Gideon
  • Триумф Гидеона
  • Triunfo de Gideon